From Solstice To Equinox


CD Digipak (gg432) - KLANG GALLERIE

Nocturnal Emissions was founded in 1980 by Nigel Ayers together with collaborators Daniel Ayers and Caroline K.
They released a lot of albums in different music styles ranging from electro-acoustic, musique concrete, hybridised beats, sound collage, post-industrial music, ambient and noise music.
The sound art has been part of an ongoing multimedia campaign of guerrilla sign ontology utilising video art, film, hypertext and other documents.
Early albums on the band's own Sterile Records were harsh noisy affairs, until Songs Of Love And Revolution turned to near synth pop melodies.

Matteo Uggeri / Barnacles is an Italian visual designer and composer from Milan.
He invests himself in sound poetry of everyday life, organized around a vast array of personal field recordings and melodic compositions meticulously arranged in a story-telling way.
He has been active in music since 1996 and has collaborated with many groups from the Industrial scene.

This new album finds Uggeri working with UK's electronic music pioneers Nocturnal Emissions.
Together, they create dub-oriented beats with cut-up vocals that are hard to fit into a genre.
The eleven pieces on this disc, can somehow be called songs.
In each of these (save for the last), the voice of Ayers is present, and hes not really singing but more reciting texts.
Hes not putting on the voice of a poet but has a slightly more commandeering voice, as if hes on the barricades, leading the strikers.
In the music here, rhythm plays an important role, at times quite dub-like or trip-hop-like.
Along with the rhythms, the sampled sounds and instruments add a surprising element of something that can be somehow classified as pop music...?!

1  A Shower Of Dry Sand 5:03
2  Sick Summer End Sucks 4:47
3  Positive Equinox Navigator 4:47
4  Dubbed Postal Office 2:34
5  Crashing My Fan 2:38
6  Drunk Dub Cat 4:06
7  Into The Hub Of Solstice 4:24
8  I Wish I Was Joyful 3:19
9  RSA Search 4:08
10 Trem Me Tribal 4:23
11 Night Cough Onions 3:36

14.00 €
Add to cart
Successfully added!

« back

This item has been successfully added to cart

Check-out Continue shopping