Tales from the Tabula Rasa (early works 1988-1991)

RAISON D’ÊTRE [raison d'être / RAISON D'ETRE]

2xCD Digipack (OECD 200) - OLD EUROPA CAFE


1: This is not a new album!
2: This does not sound like raison d'être!
3: This is raison d'être from another time and world!

'Tales from the Tabula Rasa' presents raison d'être in its earliest form, when there was no past and only future.
This was the birth of raison d'être and the creative music mind of Peter Andersson.
In one way it can be seen as the first particles to the seed that later became the established raison d'être sound in the 1990's.
In the other way it can be seen as the evil twin seed that was left to die in an early stage, like if it was a stillborn or an infanticide.
Nevertheless it is a period of time that can not completely be forgotten; a time when the first chapter of raison d'être was written.
The music is heavily influenced by ancient myths, legends, religion, philosophy and history.
The output is referred to tales rather than songs.
There is a story told in each and every sequence.

Most of the material is previously unreleased on CD but some are known from the collection album 'Reflections From the Time of Opening'.
Almost all the tracks are taken from three unofficial cassette releases from 1991, the year when raison d'être was born.
A small portion is even earlier,from a pre-raison d'être project called D:Combe, active between 1988-1990.
All material has been reworked in 2014.
To the large extent the tracks are still the same, only some very annoying sounds or parts have been removed, and some orchestral sound samples have been replaced with better and more expressive versions.
Five tracks from the original cassettes were exluded on the CD-set since they were too irritating.
The exclusion made place for the D:Combe material which has been undergoing a more cosmetic treatment through a harmonized reverb becoming more hypnotic and dronelike.
The fragments presented here are from the most experimental recordings, and the normal D:Combe sound was far from this, but still very primitive.
Also changed is a pair of known track titles, they have returned to their original idea of spelling.

'Tales from the Tabula Rasa' contains 150 minutes of music and comes in a 6-panel Digipak enriched with photos by Roman Sirotin and painting by Jennifer Gordon and Roman Sirotin.

All music by Peter Andersson 1988-1991.
Reworked 2014.

§ CD 1
1 Blood and Water
2 The Maturation of Nature
3 Le Temps et L'Espace
4 The Sphere of Another World
5 Hell did Tremble, and the Gates of Death
6 Death-pit of Ur
7 Silences
8 Annwn / Gwyn ap Nudd
9 Auto-da-fé
10 Maya
11 Ruins
12 Mictlantecuhtli  
13 Sub Specie Aeternitatis
14 Meta - Acte I - Metabasis eis allo Genos
15 Meta - Acte II - Metamorphe / Nekropolis
16 Meta - Acte III - Metanoia / The Apollo Cult
17 Thanatos /  Ahu
18 Faceless
19 Archetypon Ataraxia
20 The Rage of the Rape in Eden
21 Unendliches Angst
22 Ruins (short)
23 Metamorphe

§ CD 2
1 Gwyn ap Nudd / Annwn
2 Lumen Naturale
3 The Abyss in Abstracto
4 Euthymia
5 The External World / Through the Sipapu in the Kiva to Beyond the Beyond
6 Shangri-La / Lost Horizon
7 Reflecture; Meditato
8 Moral Sense
9 Arbitraire Émotion / In Coma
10 Amor Latent
11 Qi - Yin-Yang
12 Leprous
13 Antarctica
14 Zombie
15 The Rebirth of the Neck
16 NON-Exorcism
17 Antichrist
18 D:Combe: Nightmares

17.00 €
Add to cart
Successfully added!

« back


10.11.2015 - Heathen Harvest

Please visit link for review
Read it on Heathen Harvest

This item has been successfully added to cart

Check-out Continue shopping